Crunch Time

Every single semester I tell myself I won’t procrastinate.  I say “alright Taylor, this time you will start the work early so you don’t have a meltdown in the last week of school.”  I have these super-student I WILL CONQUER ALL!!! moments, determined to cross the finish line in cool, collected victory.

IMG_0001

This is ALWAYS my reality… So much for calm and collected.

This semester’s particular evils are a 4,000 word essay in my Scottish Architecture class, due next Thursday.  Current word count? 600.  At this point insidious tendrils of fear begin to clutch my soul.

Next- final project for my Sustainable Methodologies class.  Also due next Thursday.  My brain has started to melt like ice cream on a sidewalk.  Please note: this scenario usually results in tears from the person who USED to have a lovely ice cream cone.  Just a note.

Climbing onward, a 2,500 word essay for my Theories and Contexts class due mid-December, right in the middle of my December travels.  I’m hoping to have this done before I leave for vacation (see opening paragraph to know the reality of this statement)!

And the cherry on top- I have volunteered to host Thanksgiving for my whole housing complex- you guessed it- NEXT THURSDAY.  Cue the maniacal laughter due to complete loss of brain function.

Hey, I haven’t survived 32 semesters thus far only to crumble at #33!  I’ve learned a thing or two over the years, slipped a trick or two up my sleeves along the way.  I can do this.  I can make it happen.  If only my brain can focus long enough!  My motivation is the SIX WEEKS  of travelling Europe once school is done, and meeting MOM AND DAD WHEN I GET THERE!!! It might be the exhaustion talking, but I am freaking excited to see my parents again.  I don’t care if being a 23-year-old mama’s girl/daddy’s girl is lame, I will embrace that lameness til I die 🙂


Oh, and I got to visit a castle this week! St. Michael’s Parish Church and Linlithgow Palace, the birthplace of Mary, Queen of Scots.  AWESOME places to visit, especially if you have an architecture historian going along telling you what it looked like in its glory days!

St James Parish

The main aisle, the beautifully painted window and tracery, and an incredibly rare pre-reformation stone carving. Most of these carvings were destroyed and defaced at that time.

Linlithgow

Linlithgow Palace

Alright- it will probably be quiet on the Scottish front until the semester is over next week.  Wish me luck, send good-focus-vibes, and I’ll see you on the other side!!

Love and Laughs,

-Taylor

2 thoughts on “Crunch Time

  1. I do not miss the “end of semester panic” at all! Good luck, I know you can do it! Please don’t forget to blog (or keep a journal) of your Winter Break travels, I’ve been loving your adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

